
Lobbyist Regulation and Reporting — Utah Code 36-11 

Key 

Allowed, not reportable 

Allowed, reportable 

Food/Beverage 

Less than the food reimbursement rate 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, all invited 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, speaking 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, giving award 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, receiving award 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, approved meeting 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate, charity fundraiser 

Greater than the food reimbursement rate 

Events/Tours/Meeting 

Admission to or attendance at a tour or meeting that is 
not an approved activity 

 
The expenditure is made for a purpose solely unrelated 
to the public official's position as a public official. 

Travel 

Travel over $10 

Lodging over $10 

Definitions 
Political fundraisers are reported by the donor and the recipient under Utah Code 20A-11. 
 
“Event" means entertainment, a performance, a contest, or a recreational activity that an individual participates 
in or is a spectator at, including a sporting event, an artistic event, a play, a movie, dancing, or singing. 
 
“Meeting" means a gathering of people to discuss an issue, receive instruction, or make a decision, including a 
conference, seminar, or summit. 
 
“Tour" means visiting a location, for a purpose relating to the duties of a public official, and not primarily for en-
tertainment, including: (a) viewing a facility;  (b) viewing the sight of a natural disaster; or  (c) assessing a circum-
stance in relation to which a public official may need to take action within the scope of the public official's duties. 
 
"Food reimbursement rate" means the total amount set by the director of the Division of Finance, by rule, under 
Subsection 63A-3-107, for in-state meal reimbursement, for an employee of the executive branch, for an entire 
day. As of August 2015, the food reimbursement rate is $41.00 per day (this amount can be applied to one meal). 

DISCLAIMER: 
This document is not substitute for the 
Utah State Code. This document is pro-
vided as a guide and is not intended to 
be an authoritative statement of law. 
For further legal information, please 
consult the Utah State Code or other 
appropriate legal resources. 
Form updated September 2016 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title63A/Chapter3/63A-3-S107.html?v=C63A-3-S107_2014040320140513

