## Highlights of Campaign Finance Changes - 2018 Legislative Session

Bills below are effective May 8, 2018.

## S.B. 26 - Campaign Finance Amendments - Sen. Wayne Harper

- Changes the contribution reporting deadline from 30 days to 31 days for most entities, including:
  - Political action committees
  - Political issues committees
  - State office candidates
  - Legislative candidates
  - State school board candidates
  - Officeholders

\* As a reminder: when candidates are contested in convention, the primary, or the general election their window shortens and they must report each contribution within 3 business days.

- Changes the deadline to disburse anonymous contributions to appropriate entities. An entity now has 31 days (previously 30) to disburse an anonymous contribution greater than \$50 to a city, the state, or a 501(c)(3) charity. This affects:
  - Political action committees
  - Political issues committees
  - State office candidates
  - Legislative candidates
  - State school board candidates
  - $\circ \quad \text{Officeholders}$
- Increases the expenditure threshold that requires county political parties and PACs to file disclosure reports (now \$750, previously \$50) (i.e., a county political party or a PAC is not required to file financial disclosure reports until the entity receives \$750 or spends \$750 in a calendar year).
- Changes fines for county political parties:
  - Decreases a fine for failure to file a report by the deadline (now \$100, previously \$1,000).
  - Changes the fine structure for county political parties which fail to file or amend a report after receiving notice from Lieutenant Governor's Office (previously \$1,000, now the lesser of: 10% of the total contributions during the reporting period, or \$1,000).
- Establishes how a corporation may file a notice of intent to cease making expenditures.
- Establishes where a PIC may expend remaining funds in order to close (i.e., return to donors, or give to charity).

## H.B. 20 (Sub 1) - Political Activities And Elections - Rep. Jeremy Peterson

- Aligns state school board disclosure report penalties with other candidates.
- This bill gives state school board candidates a 24-hour window to file a report after a report deadline without being disqualified. A candidate is still subject to a fine for failure to file a report by the deadline.

## H.B. 320 - Campaign Finance Modifications - Rep. Mark Wheatley

- Expands the list of those who may not receive campaign contributions while the legislature is convened in annual general session, veto override session, or special session.
- Previously, this list included legislators, the governor, and PACs controlled by them. The following individuals (and PACs they control) are now also included:
  - Lieutenant Governor
  - Attorney General
  - State Auditor
  - State Treasurer

**DISCLAIMER**: This document is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be comprehensive or an authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. Click here to view <u>2018 Financial Disclosure Due Dates</u>.