

Political Issues Committee (PIC) Financial Disclosures Quick Guide* <u>20A-11 Part 8</u>

What to Report

PICs must report contributions (money received by the PIC) & expenditures (money spent by the PIC).

Contributions:

A PIC must report who donated money, how much they gave, and where they live. Anonymous contributions may not be spent.

In addition to the regular report deadlines, each contribution must be saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Name

Be sure to report the actual contributor.

• If the PIC uses a pass-through entity (e.g., PayPal, ActBlue, Square) to raise money, report the actual source of the contribution. The pass-through entity (PayPal) did not contribute to the PIC; Jane Doe contributed to the PIC using PayPal.

Address

"Address" is defined in <u>Utah Code</u> as "the number and street where an individual resides or where a reporting entity has its principal office."

 Based on the statutory definition of "address," a PIC should report the street address of each contributor – not a P.O. Box.

Aggregating Small Contributions

A PIC is allowed to report contributions "in the aggregate" if a person does not donate more than \$50 to the PIC throughout a calendar year. Once a donor contributes more than \$50, he or she must be itemized on the PIC's report with their name and street address.

Contributions Submitted in the Signature Submission Period

During the 30 days prior to the due date of initiative signatures PICs must report their contributions to their ledger within 3-business days of receipt.

Expenditures:

A PIC must report the name of the payee, the date the expenditure was made, and the *specific* purpose of the expenditure.

Name of Payee

Be sure to report the person or entity to whom the expenditure was *ultimately* disbursed. This means a report must disclose where money is actually spent (e.g., Office Warehouse).

• If a PIC officer is reimbursed for anything, be sure to list the ultimate payee as the Name of Payee, and not the name of the person who was reimbursed.

Specific Purpose

Utah Code requires the "*specific* purpose" of an expenditure. An example is "mailers sent on behalf of local bond issue."

How to Report

- Log on to disclosures.utah.gov
- Click on Financial Ledger

- Add contributions & expenditures (the ledger automatically updates once you *save* a contribution or expenditure)
- Click File Report

If you are a new user, please contact the Lieutenant Governor's Office to get access to the PIC ledger.

When to Report

A PIC is required to file financial disclosure reports on disclosures.utah.gov once the PIC:

- Receives \$750 in contributions during a calendar year
- Spends \$750 during a calendar year

In addition to the regular report deadlines below, each contribution must be saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Odd-Numbered Years

- September 30th (due 9/30/2019)
- 7 days before the general election (due 10/29/2019)
- January 10th of each year (due 1/10/2020)

Even-Numbered Years

- 7 days before the convention(s) of the major political parties
- 7 days before the primary election
- September 30th

•

- 7 days before the general election
- January 10th of each year

Additional deadlines may exist if a PIC is sponsoring a proposition.

What if I Miss a Report?

Failure to file a required report by the deadline will result in a \$100 fine.

Updating Contact Information

PICs are statutorily required to update their (officer) information with the Lieutenant Governor's Office within 10 days of a change of an officer.

To update PIC information:

- Log on to disclosures.utah.gov
- Click Manage Folder
- Click the red link that says Statement of Organization
- Update the Statement with new officer information

Advertisements

PICs are statutorily required to clearly state that they paid for a political advertisement.

Primary Decision-Making Authority

An individual must be designated as one of the two officers for that PIC, to exercise primary decision-making authority.

*This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be comprehensive or an authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. The contents of this guide are subject to change by legislative or judicial action.