What to Report

County political parties must report contributions & expenditures.
o A contribution is money the party receives.
e  An expenditure is money the party spends.

Contributions:
A county party must report who donated money, how much they gave,
and where they live. Anonymous contributions may not be spent.

Name

Be sure to report the actual contributor.

e Ifthe party uses a pass-through entity (e.g., PayPal, ActBlue,
Square) to raise money, report the actual source of the
contribution. The pass-through entity (PayPal) did not contribute
to the party; Jane Doe contributed to the party using PayPal.

Address

“Address” is defined in Utah Code as “the number and street where an

individual resides or where a reporting entity has its principal office.”

e Based on the statutory definition of "address," a party should
report the street address of each contributor — not a P.O. Box.

Aggregating Small Contributions

A county party is allowed to report contributions “in the aggregate” if a
person does not donate more than $50 to the county party throughout
a calendar year. Once a donor contributes more than $50, he or she
must be itemized on the party’s report with their name and street
address.

Expenditures:
A county party must report the date the expenditure was made and

where the expenditure falls within a specified list of categories.

Detailed Listing

Expenditures must fall within one of the following categories:

e Advertising; association expense; campaign expense; constituent
services; donations; loans; office; political support; return of a
contribution; signature gathering; supplies; travel expenses; or
other.

e If expenditures do not fall within one of the specified categories,
the “other” category may be chosen, followed by a description of
the expenditure.

Optional: Name of Payee

A report may include the person or entity to whom the expenditure

was ultimately disbursed. This means disclosing where money is

actually spent (e.g., Office Warehouse). This field is optional but

encouraged.

e Ifaparty officer is reimbursed for anything, be sure to list the
ultimate payee as the Name of Payee, and not the name of the
person who was reimbursed.

*This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be
comprehensive or an authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please
consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. The contents of this guide
are subject to change by legislative or judicial action.
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How to Report

e Log on to disclosures.utah.gov

e  (Click on Financial Ledger

e Add contributions & expenditures (the ledger automatically updates
once you save a contribution or expenditure)

e  (lick File Report

If you are a new user, please contact the Lieutenant Governor’s Office to
get access to your party’s ledger.

When to Report

A county political party is required to file financial disclosure reports on
disclosures.utah.gov once the county party:

e Receives $750 in contributions during a calendar year, or

e  Spends $750 during a calendar year

Odd-Numbered Years
If a county party spends $750 or receives $750 during 2021, the party
must file a report by January 10, 2022.

Even-Numbered Years
7 days before the county party’s convention
7 days before the primary election
September 30t
7 days before the general election
January 10t of each year

What if | Miss a Report?
Failure to file the Convention or Year End reports by the deadlines may
resultin a $700 fine levied against the county party.

Failure to file the Primary, September 30, or General reports, due in
even-numbered years, by the deadlines may result in a $7,000 fine levied
against the county party.

Updating Contact Information

In order to receive reminders and avoid penalties and fines levied
against the party, you must update party contact information with the
Lieutenant Governor’s Office.

To update your contact information:

Log on to disclosures.utah.gov

Click Manage Folder

Click the red link that says Statement of Organization

Update the Statement with new officer information

If you don’t have access to this with your log on credentials, contact the
Lieutenant Governor’s Office.

Email: disclosure@utah.gov
Phone: 801-538-1041
Guide updated March 2021
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