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What to Report
PICs must report contributions (money received by the PIC) &

expenditures (money spent by the PIC).

Contributions:
A PIC must report who donated money, how much they gave, and
where they live. Anonymous contributions may not be spent.

In addition to the regular report deadlines, each contribution must be
saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Name

Be sure to report the actual contributor.

e Ifthe PIC uses a pass-through entity (e.g., PayPal, ActBlue,
Square) to raise money, report the actual source of the
contribution. The pass-through entity (PayPal) did not contribute
to the PIC; Jane Doe contributed to the PIC using PayPal.

Address

“Address” is defined in Utah Code as “the number and street where an

individual resides or where a reporting entity has its principal office.”

e Based on the statutory definition of "address," a PIC should
report the street address of each contributor — not a P.O. Box.

Aggregating Small Contributions

A PIC is allowed to report contributions “in the aggregate” if a person
does not donate more than $50 to the PIC throughout a calendar year.
Once a donor contributes more than $50, he or she must be itemized
on the PIC’s report with their name and street address.

Contributions Submitted in the Signature Submission Period
During the 30 days prior to the due date of initiative signatures PICs
must report their contributions to their ledger within 7-business days of
receipt.

Expenditures:
A PIC must report the date the expenditure was made and identify

where the expenditure falls within a specified list of categories.

Detailed Listing

Expenditures must fall within one of the following categories:

e  Advertising; association expense; campaign expense; constituent
services; donations; loans; office; political support; return of a
contribution; signature gathering; supplies; travel expenses; or
other expenditures that do not fall within a specified category,
followed by a description of the expenditure.

Optional: Name of Payee

A report may include the person or entity to whom the expenditure

was ultimately disbursed. This means disclosing where money is

actually spent (e.g., Office Warehouse). This field is optional but

encouraged.

e IfaPIC officer is reimbursed for anything, be sure to list the
ultimate payee as the Name of Payee, and not the name of the
person who was reimbursed.

*This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be
comprehensive or an authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please
consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. The contents of this guide
are subject to change by legislative or judicial action.

Political Issues Committee (PIC) Financial Disclosures Quick Guide*
20A-11 Part 8

How to Report
e Log on to disclosures.utah.gov

Click on Financial Ledger

e Add contributions & expenditures (the ledger automatically updates
once you save a contribution or expenditure)

e  (lick File Report

If you are a new user, please contact the Lieutenant Governor’s Office to
get access to the PIC ledger.

When to Report

A PIC is required to file financial disclosure reports on
disclosures.utah.gov once the PIC:

e  Receives $750 in contributions during a calendar year
e  Spends $750 during a calendar year

In addition to the regular report deadlines below, each contribution must
be saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Odd-Numbered Years
September 30t (due 9/30/2021)
7 days before the general election (due 10/26/2021)
January 10t of each year (due 1/10/2022)

Even-Numbered Years
7 days before the convention(s) of the major political parties
7 days before the primary election
September 30t
7 days before the general election
January 10t of each year

Additional deadlines may exist if a PIC is sponsoring a proposition.

What if | Miss a Report?
Failure to file a required report by the deadline will result in a $700 fine.

Updating Contact Information
PICs are statutorily required to update their (officer) information with the
Lieutenant Governor’s Office within 10 days of a change of an officer.

To update PIC information:
Log on to disclosures.utah.gov

e  (Click Manage Folder

e  Click the red link that says Statement of Organization
e  Update the Statement with new officer information
Advertisements

e  PICs are statutorily required to clearly state that they paid for a
political advertisement.

Primary Decision-Making Authority
An individual must be designated as one of the two officers for that PIC,
to exercise primary decision-making authority.

Email: disclosure@utah.gov
Phone: 801-538-1041
Guide updated May 2021
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