What to Report

PACs must report contributions (money received by the PAC) &
expenditures (money spent by the PAC).

Contributions:
A PAC must report who donated money, how much they gave,
and where they live. Anonymous contributions may not be spent.

In addition to the regular report deadlines, each contribution must
be saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Name
Be sure to report the actual contributor.

If the PAC uses a pass-through entity (e.g., PayPal, ActBlue,
Square) to raise money, report the actual source of the
contribution. The pass-through entity (PayPal) did not
contribute to the PAC; Jane Doe contributed to the PAC
using PayPal.

Address

“Address” is defined in Utah Code as “the number and street
where an individual resides or where a reporting entity has its
principal office.”

Based on the statutory definition of "address," a PAC should
report the street address of each contributor — not a P.O.
Box.

Aggregating Small Contributions

A PAC is allowed to report contributions “in the aggregate” if a
person does not donate more than $50 to the PAC throughout a
calendar year. Once a donor contributes more than $50, he or
she must be itemized on the PAC’s report with their name and
street address.

Expenditures:

A PAC must report the date the expenditure was made, the
reporting entity to whom the expenditure was made, and identify
where the expenditure falls within a specified list of categories.

Detailed Listing
Expenditures must fall within one of the following categories:

Advertising; association expense; campaign expense;
constituent services; donations; loans; office; political
support; return of a contribution; signature gathering;
supplies; travel expenses; or other expenditures that do not
fall within a specified category, followed by a description of
the expenditure.

*This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code, and it is not intended to be
comprehensive or an authoritative statement of law. For further legal information, please
consult Utah State Code or other appropriate legal resources. The contents of this guide
are subject to change by legislative or judicial action.
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Name of Payee

The PAC must report the name of the reporting entity to which

the expenditure was made.

e A‘reporting entity” includes a candidate, a candidate's
personal campaign committee, a judge, a judge's personal
campaign committee, an officeholder, a party committee, a
political action committee, a political issues committee, a
corporation, or a labor organization.

e When reporting in-kind contributions, report the entity to
whom the expenditure was ultimately disbursed, as well as
the recipient of the in-kind contribution (this can be done in
the description box).

o [fa PAC officer is reimbursed for anything, be sure to list the
ultimate payee as the Name of Payee, and not the name of
the person who was reimbursed.

Independent Expenditures
Independent Expenditures must be identifiable on the financial
ledger.

PICs
PACs may make expenditures to PICs but may not receive
contributions from PICs.

How to Report

e Logon to disclosures.utah.gov

o  Click on Financial Ledger

e Add contributions & expenditures (the ledger automatically
updates once you save a contribution or expenditure)

o  Click File Report

If you are a new user, please contact the Lieutenant Governor’s
Office to get access to the PAC ledger.

When to Report

A PAC is required to file financial disclosure reports on
disclosures.utah.gov once the PAC:

e Receives $750 in contributions during a calendar year
e Spends $750 during a calendar year

In addition to the regular report deadlines below, each contribution
must be saved to the financial ledger within 31 days of receiving it.

Odd-Numbered Years

e  September 30" (due 9/30/2021)
e 7 days before the general election (due 10/26/2021)
e January 10" of each year (due 1/10/2022)

Email: disclosure@utah.gov
Phone: 801-538-1041
Guide updated May 2022
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Even-Numbered Years
e 7 days before the convention(s) of the parties with which PACs
have donated to a candidate
e 7 days before the convention(s) of the major political parties
e 7 days before the primary election
e  September 30t
e 7 days before the general election
e January 10% of each year
What if | Miss a Report?
Failure to file a required report by the deadline will resultin a $700
fine.
Statement of Organization & Updating Contact
Information
Statement of Organization
Names and acronyms may not be similar to existing PACs.
Updating Contact Information
PACs are statutorily required to update their (officer) information
with the Lieutenant Governor’s Office within 10 days of a change of
an officer.
To update PAC information:
e Logon to disclosures.utah.gov
o  Click Manage Folder
o Click the red link that says Statement of Organization
e Update the Statement with new officer information
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