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Contributions must be reported within 31 days or 7
business days.
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Utah Code 20A-11-201, Utah Code 20A-11-301, Utah
Code 20A-11-401, and Utah Code 20A-11-1301
Generally, each contribution (including in-kind
contributions) must be reported within 31 calendar
days of receipt.
For candidates contested during convention, the
primary election, or the general election, this window
shortens during the 30 days prior to these events. For
the 30 days before the contested convention or
election, contributions must be reported within
seven business days of receipt.

The received date of a contribution is the date you
have the ability to use it, which means you receive:

Cash – as soon as your campaign has it in hand.
A check – the day it is deposited into your
campaign account.
Direct deposit – the earlier of when the campaign
becomes aware or receives notice of the deposit
OR 31 days after the direct deposit occurred.
An in-kind contribution – when you benefit from
it.

Contributions are considered reported when they are
saved to the financial ledger.
The Lieutenant Governor's office is statutorily
required to impose fines against candidates and
officeholders whose contributions are reported after
the 31 day or seven business day time period.
Fines are issued at the following rates:

10% of the contribution amount, if reported
within 60 days of receipt
20% of the contribution amount, if reported after
60 days of receipt.

Anonymous contributions that are greater than $50
are not permitted, and must be given to a charity, a
city, or the State.

Utah Code 20A-11-201, Utah Code 20A-11-301, Utah
Code 20A-11-401, and Utah Code 20A-11-1301
If a candidate or officeholder receives a contribution
(or public service assistance) which exceeds $50 and
is from an unknown source, the candidate or
officeholder shall disburse the amount of the
contribution (or public service assistance) within 31
days to:
(a) the state or a political subdivision for deposit into
the general fund; or
(b) a 501(c)(3) organization.

Candidates and officeholders may not use funds that
are greater than $50 and from an unknown source. If
you receive an anonymous contribution (or public
service assistance) that is greater than $50, you must
give it to a charity, a city, or the State.

Personal use expenditures are prohibited.
Utah Code 20A-11-104
A “personal use expenditure” means an expenditure
that “primarily furthers a personal interest of a
candidate or officeholder or a candidate's or
officeholder's family, which interest is not connected
with the performance of an activity as a candidate or
an activity or duty of an officeholder”
Personal use expenditures are subject to an
administrative penalty (half the amount of the
personal use expenditure) and repaying the campaign
account the full amount of the personal use
expenditure.
Below are examples of some expenditures reported
in previous years which were determined to be
personal use expenditures for which fines were paid:

Shirts for session*
Tie*
Citizenship application fees
Combo passes for Thanksgiving Point
Mister Car Wash
Gym dues for Capitol Fitness Center
Cold medicine

*Clothing expenditures are explicitly prohibited
unless the clothing bears the candidate's name or
campaign slogan or logo AND is used in the
candidate's campaign, or if the expenditure is used to
repair or replace clothing that was damaged while
the candidate or officeholder was engaged in an
activity of the candidate or officeholder.

A detailed listing requires identifying expenditures
within a list of approved categories.
Utah Code 20A-11-101.3 and Utah Code 20A-11-101(11)
(b)(iii)
Expenditures must identify:

Where the expenditure falls within one of the
following categories:

advertising; association expense; campaign
expense; constituent services; donations;
loans; office; political support; return of a
contribution; signature gathering; supplies;
travel expenses; or other.
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The “actual person or entity to whom the
disbursement is ultimately made... and may not
merely list the transactional intermediary” (a
credit card company, a financial institution, or a
money transfer service, that pays or transfers
money to a person on behalf of another person).

*This guide is not a substitute for Utah State Code,
and it is not intended to be comprehensive or an
authoritative statement of law. For further legal
information, please consult Utah State Code or other
appropriate legal resources. The contents of this
guide are subject to change by legislative or judicial
action.

When reporting the person or entity to whom the
expenditure was disbursed, be sure you report the
ultimate payee of an expenditure (20A-11-101.5). For
example, you didn’t pay American Express for your
campaign signs, you paid Office Warehouse, using
American Express. Similarly, if you use your personal
account to pay for something campaign related, and
later reimburse your personal account with
campaign funds, then you are only required to report
where you ultimately expended the money. The same
is true if you use a business account which you later
reimburse.
If expenditures do not fall within one of the specified
categories, the “other” category may be chosen, and a
description of the expenditure must be included.
If you pay campaign staff, report the name of the
staffer as the Name of Payee.
If you pay people to work on your campaign, list the
name of each staffer in the Name of Payee field(s).
This expenditure would fall under the “campaign
expense” category. The ultimate payee should not be
“Payroll,” the ultimate payee is the person you pay.

2

https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title20A/Chapter11/20A-11-S101.5.html?v=C20A-11-S101.5_2014040320140313

